News Filmmakers Events Screenings Press Releases    Photos

Overview / Timeline

E:   T: +65 6777 3243  F: +65 6543 1643

Symposium on Southeast Asian Digital Cinema

Main | Registration | Programme | Description | Speakers | Call for Papers


10 December 2007, Monday

Time Agenda
Opening Address
0945-1100 Panel: A New Southeast Asian Cinema - Film Communities, Digital Connections

Speakers: Benjamin Mckay (Film Scholar, Lecturer at Monash University), Khavn de la Cruz (Award-winning filmmaker and founder of Filmless Films), Mirabelle Ang (Singapore documentarian), Nicholas Chee (Singapore filmmaker and Founder of Sinema), Tan Chui Mui (Award-winning filmmaker and founder of Da Huang Pictures)

Chair: Karen Chan (Archivist, Asian Film Archive)
1100-1230 Presentation: Best Cineodeon Team (Pre tertiary)

1. Screening Aki Ra's Boys by Singapore Chinese Girls' School

2. A Cinematheque: From Germination to Fruition by Hwa Chong Institution (High School)

3. Into the Public's Eye by Hwa Chong Institution (College)

Jury: Benjamin Mckay, Gertjan Zuilhof, Nicholas Chee
1230-1330 Lunch
1400-1530 Presentation: Best Film Paper (Tertiary)

1. Royston Tan: A Singaporean Auteur by Duong Cam Tu, Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information, Nanyang Technological University

2. Indonesian Cinema After The 1998 Reformation by Wafa Marican, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Nanyang Technological University

3. Alternative Discourse in New wave Singapore Cinema by Roseane Kalavathi, School of Art, Design and Media, Nanyang Technological University

Jury: Alexis Tioseco, Ben Slater, Linus Tee
1530-1600 Tea
1600-1700 Presentation: Best Cineodeon Team (Tertiary)

1. Screening Indonesian Films by School of Media and Info-communications Technology, Singapore Polytechnic

2. Possibilities of A Cinematheque School Programme by School of Art, Design and Media, Nanyang Technological University

Jury: Benjamin Mckay, Gertjan Zuilhof, Nicholas Chee


11 December 2007, Tuesday

Time Agenda
0900-0930 Registration
0930-1130 Panel: Film Programming and Criticism

Alexis Tioseco (Editor and founder of, Ben Slater (Film critic and author of Kinda Hot: The Making Of Saint Jack in Singapore), Gertjan Zuilhof (Film critic and Programmer of International Film Festival of Rotterdam), Linus Tee (Film critic and founder of, Wong Lung Hsiang (Film critic, Lianhe Zaobao)

Chair: Tan Bee Thiam (Executive Director, Asian Film Archive)
1130-1330 Lunch
1300-1430 Presentation: Best Film Paper (Pre-tertiary)

1. An Analysis of South East Asian Guerrilla Film Media and its Role in Media Activism by Glendon Kok Jun Wei, Hwa Chong Institution (High School)

2. MOB: Mail-Order Brides by Hema Lata D/O Veeramohan, Jurong Junior College

3. Class Representation in Southeast Asian Digital Cinema by Lee Liuyi, Nanyang Girls' High School

Jury: Alexis Tioseco, Ben Slater, Linus Tee

1430-1600 Presentation: Best Inter-School Film Project

1. Jump Mei Mei, Jump! by Jon Chue (LaSalle), Felice Tang (NTU), Hafiz 'Huz' Firdaus (Republic Poly)
Mentored by Khavn de la Cruz

2. Drive by Nicole Midori Woodford (NTU), Kent Chan (LaSalle), Yvonne Ng (LaSalle), Faezah (Republic Poly)
Mentored by Tan Chui Mui

3. Unseen by Loo Zihan (NTU), Marge van de Straaten (LaSalle), Toh Chee Hong (LaSalle), Low Weijuan (Republic Poly)
Mentored: Tan Chui Mui

4. Alibi by Dinuksha Wattegama (LaSalle),Danny Lim (NTU), Fu Shiqi (NTU), Xiong Jia Qing (NUS), Joe Chung (NUS) and Aarti Khemlani (NUS)
Mentored by Thunska Pansittivorakul

5. Celebration by Boo Junfeng (LaSalle), Christoffer Bjorndalen Soreide (LaSalle), Yeo Rong Rong (NTU), Boo Xinying (NTU)
Mentored by Riri Riza

6. Traces by Elgin Ho (NTU), Henry Wong (LaSalle), Jon Chue (LaSalle), Muhammad Zulkifliamin (NTU), Jon Chue (LaSalle), Dinuksha Wattegama (LaSalle)
Mentored by Riri Riza

Jury: Jacqueline Tan, Khavn de la Cruz, Mirabelle Ang, Tan Chui Mui
1600-1630 Tea
1630-1645 Closing Address
1645-1700 Prize Presentation